About us

About us

Our team passionately delivers excellence in sporting goods and services to athletes and organizations, so they can be their best and focus on the things they love to do.

Over 125 years and 5 generations........

Burghardt Sporting Goods has a deep and impressive history that spans over a century. Doing business in the Milwaukee area since the 1800's, Burghardt's is recognized as one of the oldest family owned and operated sporting goods stores in the nation.

Charles Burghardt opened a small stationary and book store in downtown Milwaukee in 1881. As Milwaukee's population grew with the influx of immigrants from Germany and Poland, there was a demand for stationary and a new demand for school supplies. Charles Burghardt recognized this opportunity and expanded into physical education supplies for schools and later, sports equipment. With an emphasis on excellent customer service, Charles Burghardt set into motion what would become his families work for years to come.

Burghardt's carved its niche as being the place for sporting equipment. While we since have focused on being one of the elite independent sporting goods stores in the nation, we haven't lost our connection to schools. By providing local schools with jerseys, uniforms and customized tee shirts, Burghardt Sporting Goods is known as the place to go for custom printed gear.

Boasting a full service in-house screen printing and department and a staff that is both friendly and knowledgeable, we continue to work hard to provide our customers with the latest equipment and gear in the industry. By having the largest selection of lacrosse gear in the state as well as the largest baseball and softball equipment in the Midwest, we aim to provide our customers with the gear they need to gain a step up on the competition.

Contact Us

Owners

Brian Burghardt

262-432-8785

brian@bsg1881.com

Carl Burghardt

262-432-8783

carl@bsg1881.com

Lynn Burghardt

262-432-8800

lynn@bsg1881.com

Art Department

Chad Lamers

262-432-8781

chad@bsg1881.com

Dan Marks

262-432-8807

dan@bsg1881.com

Madeline Rittgers

262-432-8808

madeline@bsg1881.com

Group Online Orders

Team Sales

Jake Cosson

262-432-8809

jake@bsg1881.com

Bryan Knierim (BK)

262-432-8779

bk@bsg1881.com

Kevin Murphy

262-432-8796

kevin@bsg1881.com

Mitch Hauser

262-432-8787

mitch@bsg1881.com

Greg Fohey

262-432-8778

greg@bsg1881.com

Steve Gottfried

262-432-8803

steve@bsg1881.com

Clay Hemphill

262-432-8780

clay@bsg1881.com

Thomas Potratz

262-432-8806

thomas@bsg1881.com

Clint Andresen

262-202-8124

clint@bsg1881.com

AJ Woelfel

262-432-8795

aj@bsg1881.com